• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Welcome to the Frontpage

Lewis, Eversman Fill Their Pokes At Gold Discovery Run

E-mail Print PDF

Melissa Lewis was the women's winner, while Chris Eversman topped the men's field in the 48th Annual Gold Discovery Run, Sunday in Fox.  Lewis covered the wet and muddy course in 1:55:10, a scant 46 seconds ahead of North Pole's Christi Schmitz, who now runs for UAA.  Devin McDowell was the closest to Eversman, just short of four minutes back.

Last Updated on Sunday, 21 July 2013 17:06

Bray, Eversman Run Best With Valkyries

E-mail Print PDF

Maria Bray won the women's class and extended her Flint Hills Cup lead, and Chris Eversman won the men's 8Km, drawing closer to Flint Hills Cup leader Devin McDowell (third in the race), in the annual Run of the Valkyries at Pioneer Park, organized and sponsored by Opera Fairbanks.

Last Updated on Saturday, 13 July 2013 12:43

McWayne and McDowell Win Run of the Mine

E-mail Print PDF

Devin McDowell and Dorli McWayne were repeat winners in the third annual 10Km Run of the Mine at the Usibelli Coal Mine in Healy.  Temperatures were comfortable, but gusting winds buffeted the runners from time to time -- although the steep hills in the outermost 3/4-mile of the scenic out-and-back course did more than anything else to keep the runners from PR pace.

Last Updated on Sunday, 07 July 2013 16:33

Women Dominate Jingle In July

E-mail Print PDF

The majority of the first five runners to cross the finish line in North Pole in Saturday's Arthritis Foundation Jingle in July 5Km were women - the first time that has happened in a 5K race in the Interior in recent memory.  Christi Schmitz was the first woman and second overall in 18:32, Monroe grad Macala Fifield was fourth overall (2nd woman) in 19:42 and was followed across the line by Hayley Perkins in 20:16.


Bray, McDowell Lead RCN/Flint Hills Cup

E-mail Print PDF

Maria Bray and Devin McDowell are the leaders in the RCN/Flint Hills Cup rankings after the first three of eight races in the series.  McDowell leads Ted Alder, Roger Sayre, Chris Eversman and Joe Bue.  Dorli McWayne, Anna Merrill, Melanie Nussbaumer and Annie Worden round out the top five on the women's side.

The next race in the series is the 8Km Run of the Valkyries on July 13 at Pioneer Park.

You can view the rankings in PDF format by clicking on the "RCN Cup Rankings" link on the top or left-side menus on this page.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 02 July 2013 16:24

Sluicebox 100 Results

E-mail Print PDF

Kevin Breitenbach topped Tyson Flaharty for overall honors in the 2nd Annual Sluicebox 100 ultra endurance race.  Both Breitenbach and Flaharty, the defending champion, were in the mountain bike division.  Andrea Dubenezic was the women's bike division winner.  Eric Schmidgall beat Drew Harrington for the men's title in the running division, and Equinox Marathon and Ultramarathon champion Laura McDonough of Anchorage won the women's race.

Last Updated on Sunday, 30 June 2013 22:20

Fournier, McDowell Rule Flint Hills Mile

E-mail Print PDF

Autumn Fournier and Devin McDowell were the winners in the annual Flint Hills Mile, the 3rd event in the eight-race RCN/Flint Hills Cup series.  Fournier defeated Maria Bray by six seconds, 5:52 to 5:58.  They were well ahead of third-place Dorli McWayne who was just ahead of Anna Merrill and Jane Lanford who tied for fourth.  McDowell's margin was also six seconds, over Ted Alder, with Joe Bue third, Roger Sayre fourth and Nicholas Bastiani fifth.

Last Updated on Thursday, 27 June 2013 21:03

Noon, Schmitz Meander Fastest of 569 Runners

E-mail Print PDF

Peter Noon edged Nathaniel Burrell by 6 seconds in the men's race, while Christi Schmitz waltzed to victory by 49 seconds in the 21st Annual Mosquito Meander, sponsored by Fairbanks Counseling and Adoption, Saturday the 15th.  The 5Km race started and finished at Pioneer Park.

Last Updated on Sunday, 16 June 2013 19:32

Globe Creek Road Race Doesn't Alter Results in Tour of Fairbanks 2013

E-mail Print PDF

The riders in the final stage of the 2013 Tour of Fairbanks bike race spent three hours going up and down long climbs and fighting crosswinds and headwinds Sunday, but all the effort did little to change the outcome of the overall rankings - at least at the top of the heap.  Tyson Flaharty (Goldstream Sports) and Sheryl Loan (Kaladi-Subway) easily held onto their overnight leads to emerge as the ToF champions.


Page 5 of 32

You are here: Home